Library Cards, eCards, and Borrowing Items
Who can get a library card and how?
- Residents of Tyngsborough: Bring proof of residency (driver’s license, lease, utility bill, etc.) to the Circulation Desk. Fill out our application. Your card will be issued immediately.
- Residents of towns whose libraries belong to the Merrimack Valley Library Consortium (MVLC): Get your card at your hometown library and use it here!
- Residents of other Massachusetts towns: Get your card at your hometown library. Bring ID and proof of your residence in that town to our Circulation Desk. We will register you in our system.
- Out of state residents: Bring ID and apply for a local-use-only card.
Get an eCard to borrow electronic resources right now!
An eCard is a Merrimack Valley Library Consortium library card which provides access to electronic resources: e-books, e-audiobooks, e-magazines, streaming music & videos, and databases.
The eCard is for those who do not already have an MVLC library card. You must be a resident of Massachusetts.
Questions or problems? Contact us at [email protected] or (978) 649-7361.
Can I use my card at other libraries?
Yes, you may use your library card at any of the 36 members of the Merrimack Valley Library Consortium. You may also register to use any public library in Massachusetts.
What do I do if I lose my library card?
Please report a lost or stolen card immediately. Replacement cards have a fee of $1.00.
How can I renew items?
Most items will automatically renew once if no one is waiting for them. Contact the Circulation Desk at [email protected] or (978) 649-7361.
Can I return an item when the Library is closed?
Yes, the Library has book drops in the parking lot that is open 24/7.
What if I return an item late or lose it?
The Library charges fines only on the late return of Museum passes, video games, new DVDs, and some items from the Library of Things collection. Circulation lending charts are available on the Library’s Policy page.
However, if you return an item at the Tyngsborough Public Library that you checked out from a library with fines, fines will be charged on your late item. Charges of $20 or more must be paid before you can use your card. If you check out an item and do not return it, a bill will be sent to you after 7 weeks. The item must be returned OR paid for to clear your account. If a lost item is owned by TPL it may be replaced with an exact copy in good condition.
How can I get an item if it is checked out to another borrower?
You may reserve Tyngsborough Public Library and other Merrimack Valley Library Consortium items that are out in circulation by:
- Requesting it yourself through the online catalog. (Click on the “Account Login” button on our homepage; search for the title; click “Place hold”; log in to your account by entering your borrower ID and PIN number.)
- Ask at the Circulation Desk for a staff member to place the hold for you.
- Call or email the Circulation Desk at [email protected] or (978) 649-7361
Some materials are not requestable.